Free Up Disk Space After the Windows Update

After a long wait, the Windows 10 October 2018 update is available again to all users. Microsoft is already offering the upgrade to its first users. To avoid mistakes like the last time, the group wants to look at this time particularly detailed data transmitted.

Some users will notice that after the update suddenly missing several gigabytes of memory on the computer. This is because Windows saves the old version of the system for ten days in the so-called “windows.old” folder. So users can return to the last, stable version in case of problems. Those who do not want to wait ten days or need the space immediately can also release the memory manually. Here you find out how this works.

Caution: Only delete the folder if you really want to stay with the current version of Windows. A return to the previous version is made much more difficult without the folder.

Delete Windows.old
1. Press the Windows key and E to open the file explorer.

2. Right-click the drive where Windows is installed. The drive is usually C. If you do not see any drives, you must click on This PC on the left side of the bar. Now all drives should be displayed.

3. After right-clicking on the drive, select Properties.

4. In the opened window, select the item Purge. This can be found in the General tab.

5. The system now displays possible data that can be deleted. To be able to access system data such as old versions of Windows, you must select the option Clean up system files. You need administrator rights for this step.

6. Select the files you want to delete. For example, Windows provides temporary files as well as “previous Windows installations.” Click Clean and the files will be deleted.

Windows 10: How to disable automatic updates

In the Ticker: Three useful Windows features that you certainly do not know yet
New Windows Version: Five new features you should know
New Windows 10 release: How to prevent update glitches

Alternatively, you can also delete files via the system settings. It works like this:
1. Press the Windows key or click on the Windows icon in the system tray (usually lower left).

2. Press the gear icon, this will open the Windows settings

3. Click System.

4. Find the Memory menu. Click on it.

5. Click Share disk space now.

6. Select the files you want to delete and click Remove Fil

3 Comments