WhatsApp Presents: Photos and Videos will be Deleted After One Viewing
The messaging app aligns with the competition, and allows you to hide photos and videos after a one-time viewing. “Not everything we share needs to be digitally signed on a regular basis,” the company said. This is how it works.
WhatsApp continues to upgrade and last night (Tuesday) released a new feature, View Once, which will allow you to send photos and videos that will disappear from the chat after the recipient opens them. The update is available on Android and iOS.
Do you have any writing questions? Contact him via Instagram
“While taking photos or videos on our phones has become such a big part of our lives, not everything we share needs to be digitally signed on a regular basis,” the company’s official blog said. “On a lot of phones, simple photography means taking up space in the photo gallery forever.”
How It Works? If you want to send a photo or video for one-time viewing, you will have to select this option over and over again – clicking on the number 1 icon next to the send button. Please note: Content you share will not be saved in the recipient’s photos and gallery, and you will not be able to view it again.
Did you receive or send photos and videos set up for one-time viewing? You will not be able to move, save, share and star them. Additionally, you can see if the recipient has opened the image or video set for one-time viewing, provided he has enabled read permissions. If you do not open the photo or video within 14 days of sending it, it will expire in chat.
Note: Although this is a feature that uploads the content after one viewing, it is recommended to send one-time viewing photos and videos only to people you trust, because someone might, for example: take a screenshot or record the screen before the media disappears. In this case, you will not be notified.
Also, users will still be able to take the picture or record the video using a camera or other device, before they disappear. In addition, “Encrypted media may be stored on WhatsApp servers for several weeks after you send it,” WhatsApp stressed.